For a full list of publications visit the google scholar profile


Peer-reviewed Journals


  • “Interaction-driven transport of dark excitons in 2D semiconductors with phonon-mediated optical readout”; Saroj B. Chand, John M. Woods, Jiamin Quan, Enrique Mejia, Takashi Taniguchi, Kenji Watanabe, Andrea Alù & Gabriele Grosso; Nature Communications (2023)


  • “Spin-orbit-locked hyperbolic polariton vortices carrying reconfigurable topological charges”; Mingsong Wang, Guangwei Hu, Saroj Chand, Michele Cotrufo, Yohannes Abate, Kenji Watanabe, Takashi Taniguchi, Gabriele Grosso, Cheng-Wei Qiu and Andrea Alù; eLight (2022)


  • “Visualization of dark excitons in semiconductor monolayers for high-sensitivity strain sensing”; Saroj Chand, John M Woods, Enrique Mejia, Takashi Taniguchi, Kenji Watanabe, Gabriele Grosso; Nano Letters (2022) 


  • “35 challenges in materials science being tackled by PIs under 35 (ish) in 2021”; Brian Aguado, Laura J Bray, Sabina Caneva, Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena, Giuliana Di Martino, Chengcheng Fang, Yin Fang, Pascal Gehring, Gabriele Grosso, Xiaodan Gu, Peijun Guo, Yu He, Thomas J Kempa, Matthew Kutys, Jinxing Li, Tian Li, Bolin Liao, Fang Liu, Francisco Molina-Lopez, Andrea Pickel, Ana M Porras, Ritu Raman, Ellen M Sletten, Quinton Smith, Chaoliang Tan, Haotian Wang, Huiliang Wang, Sihong Wang, Zhongrui Wang, Geoffrey Wehmeyer, Lu Wei, Yuan Yang, Lauren D Zarzar, Meiting Zhao, Yuqing Zheng, Steve Cranford; Matter (2021)


  • “Dynamic Exciton Funneling by Local Strain Control in a Monolayer Semiconductor”; Hyowon Moon, Gabriele Grosso, Chitraleema Chakraborty, Cheng Peng, Takashi Taniguchi, Kenji Watanabe, and Dirk Englund; Nano Letters (2020)


  • “Bright high-purity quantum emitters in aluminum nitride integrated photonics”; Tsung-Ju Lu, Benjamin Lienhard, Kwang-Yong Jeong, Hyowon Moon, Ava Iranmanesh, Gabriele Grosso, and Dirk R. Englund; ACS Photonics (2020)


  • “Low-Temperature Electron–Phonon Interaction of Quantum Emitters in Hexagonal Boron Nitride”; Gabriele Grosso, Hyowon Moon, Christopher J. Ciccarino, Johannes Flick, Noah Mendelson, Lukas Mennel, Milos Toth, Igor Aharonovich, Prineha Narang, and Dirk R. Englund; ACS Photonics (2020)


  • “Strain-Correlated Localized Exciton Energy in Atomically Thin Semiconductors”; Hyowon Moon, Eric Bersin, Chitraleema Chakraborty, Ang-Yu Lu, Gabriele Grosso, Jing Kong, and Dirk Englund; ACS Photonics (2020)


  • “Effect of Spectral Diffusion on the Coherence Properties of a Single Quantum Emitter in Hexagonal Boron Nitride”; Boris Spokoyny, Hendrik Utzat, Hyowon Moon, Gabriele Grosso, Dirk Englund, and Moungi G. Bawendi; J. Phys. Chem. Lett. (2020)


  • “Dynamic exciton funneling by local strain control in a monolayer semiconductor”; Hyowon Moon, Gabriele Grosso, Chitraleema Chakraborty, Cheng Peng, Takashi Taniguchi, Kenji Watanabe, Dirk Englund; arXiv:1906.10077 (2019)



  • “Compact mid-infrared graphene thermopile enabled by a nanopatterning technique of electrolyte gates”; Cheng Peng, Sebastien Nanot, Ren-Jye Shiue, Gabriele Grosso, Yafang Yang, Marek Hempel, Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Jing Kong, Frank Koppens, Dmitri K Efetov, Dirk R Englund,  New Journal of Physics (2018)


Previous Appointments

  • “Fast thermal relaxation in cavity-coupled graphene bolometers with a Johnson noise read-out”; Dmitri K Efetov, Ren-Jye Shiue, Yuanda Gao, Brian Skinner, Evan D Walsh, Hyeongrak Choi, Jiabao Zheng, Cheng Tan, Gabriele Grosso, Cheng Peng, James Hone, Kin Chung Fong, Dirk Englund, Nature Nanotechnology (2018)


  • ”A MoTe2 based light emitting diode and photodetector for silicon photonic integrated circuits”; Yaqing Bie, Gabriele Grosso, Mikkel Heuck, Marco Furchi, Yuan Cao, Jiabao Zheng, Darius Bunandar , Efren Navarro-Moratalla, Lin Zhou, Dmitri Efetov, Takashi Taniguchi, Kenji Watanabe, Jing Kong, Dirk Englund, and Pablo Jerillo-Herrero,   Nature Nanotechnology  (2017)


  • “Tunable and high purity room-temperature single photon emission from atomic defects in hexagonal boron nitride”; Gabriele Grosso, Hyowon Moon, Benjamin Lienhard, Sajid Ali, Dmitri K. Efetov, Marco M. Furchi, Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Michael J. Ford, Igor Aharonovich, Dirk Englund,  Nature Communications (2017)


  • Gabriele Grosso, News&Views “2D materials: Valley polaritons”  Nature Photonics (2017).


  • “Active 2D Materials for On-Chip Nanophotonics and Quantum Optics”; Ren-Jye Shiue, Dmitri K. Efetov, Gabriele Grosso, Cheng Peng, Kin-Chung Fong, and Dirk Englund,  Nanophotonics (2017)


  • “Robust multicolor single photon emission from point defects in hexagonal boron nitride”; Toan Trong Tran, Christopher ElBadawi, Daniel Totonjian, Charlene J Lobo, Gabriele Grosso, Hyowon Moon, Dirk R. Englund, Michael J. Ford, Igor Aharonovich, Milos Toth,  ACS Nano (2016)


  • “Comment on ‘Linear Wave Dynamics Explains Observations Attributed to Dark Solitons in a Polariton Quantum Fluid'”; A Amo, J Bloch, A Bramati, I Carusotto, C Ciuti, B Deveaud, E Giacobino, G. Grosso, A Kamchatnov, G Malpuech, N Pavloff, S Pigeon, D Sanvitto, DD Solnyshkov. Phys. Rev. Lett. (2015)


  • “Nonlinear relaxation and selective polychromatic lasing of confined polaritons”; G. Grosso, S. Trebaol, M. Wouters, F. Morier-Genoud, M. Portella-Oberli and B. Deveaud. Phys. Rev. B (2014)


  • “Dynamics of dark solitons formation in polariton quantum fluids”, G. Grosso, G. Nardin, F. Morier-Genoud, Y. Leger and B. Deveaud-Pledran. Phys. Rev. B (2012) – Editors’ Suggestion


  • “Soliton instabilities and vortex street formation in a polariton quantum fluid”; G. Grosso, G. Nardin, F. Morier-Genoud, Y. Leger and B. Deveaud-Pledran.” Phys. Rev. Lett.  (2011)


  • “Hydrodynamic nucleation of quantized vortex pairs in a polariton quantum fluid”; G. Nardin, G. Grosso, Y. Leger, B. Pietka, F. Morier-Genoud and B. Deveaud-Pledran. Nature Physics (2011) – Cover Article


  • “Excitonic switches operating at around 100 K”; G. Grosso, J. Graves, A. T. Hammack, A. A. High, L. V. Butov, M. Hanson, A. C. Gossard. Nature Photonics (2009)


  • “Trapping indirect excitons in a GaAs quantum-well structure with a diamond-shaped electrostatic trap”; A. A. High, A. K. Thomas, G. Grosso, M. Remeika, A. T. Hammack, A. D. Meyertholen, M. M. Fogler, L.V. Butov, M. Hanson, A. C. Gossard. Phys. Rev. Lett. (2009)